SUMMER PROJECT

Summer task of creating an illuminated letter form using my first name initial and interests. Alphonse Mucha’s work and the Art Nouveau movement are one of my favourite themes / designs so thought it would be appropriate to include this in my design focusing on mainly on the female form. This particular image was inspired by Mucha’s Dance piece I really love the composition of this design and thought the hair would work well with the shape of the ‘D’ form. I developed this in adobe photoshop using the basic drawing tool and layering with the other components in the image. For the colour element I created an abstract sample of warm tones in watercolour and scanned them in for a mixed media visual. I also hand drew some continuous line sketches of a city skyline to represent Cardiff and scanned these in as well. I chose a bold sans serif font style as I wanted it to be in contrast with the Mucha inspired image and not to take the full focus of that. In reflection I might’ve played around with the layout and developed further in Illustrator for a more refined finish.uniprojects

Leave a Reply

